A secret territory...

A secret territory

The Aspres, in Catalan language, comes from the word « arid ». The Aspres are drylands.

Discover a territory with contrasting landscapes where heritage and gastronomy intermingle. The Aspres spread in harmonious hills from the foot of the Canigou mountain to the Roussillon plain. It offers scenic points of view all the way down to the Mediterranean Sea.

On the heritage side, discover small villages full of charm that have kept all their authenticity. You will go there by small winding roads through cork oak forests. Take your time for a break and discover a romanesque church or the ruins of a castle steeped in history.

On the flora side, the plain landscape is covered with vineyards, orchards and olive trees. In the hinterland, you can find cork oak forests as well as garrigues sprinkled with thyme, lavender and rosemary. It’s pleasant to wander there from the end of May to mid-June and smell all these subtle fragrances. In June, you can pick meadow chrisanthemum in order to make the bouquets for the Saint-John-Baptist Day.

On the local food side, come meet our producers for a gastronomic break, and enjoy their delicious products : honey, duck, snail, cheese, olive oil… Don’t forget to stop in one of the many cellars standing all across the territory for a wine tasting.

Identity card :
Région : Languedoc Roussillon
Area : Pyrénées orientales
19 villages : BANYULS DELS ASPRESBROUILLACAIXASCALMEILLESCAMELASCASTELNOUFOURQUESLLAUROMONTAURIOLOMSPASSASTE COLOMBEST JEAN LASSEILLETERRATSTHUIRTORDERESTRESSERRETROUILLASVILLEMOLAQUE
Inhabitants :18 566 people
Height : from 40m to  480m
Area :232 km2
Economic and administrative Capital City : Thuir with 7500 inhabitants

Skip to content

Les Aspres secrètes...

« Un territoire secret »

Les Aspres, en catalan, vient du mot « aride ». Les Aspres sont des terres arides et sèches.
Découvrez un territoire aux paysages contrastés où se mêlent patrimoine et gastronomie. Les Aspres vont du pied du Canigou en collines harmonieuses jusqu’à la plaine du Roussillon et offrent de magnifiques points de vues jusqu’à la Méditerranée.
Côté patrimoine découvrez  des petits villages pleins de charmes ayant conservés toute leur authenticité, vous vous y rendrez par de petites routes sinueuses à travers des forêts de chênes lièges, prenez le temps de vous y arrêter et découvrez ici et là une église romane ou les ruines d’un château chargées d’histoire.
Côté flore sur la plaine le paysage est couvert de vignes, de vergers et d’oliviers, dans l’arrière-pays on alterne des forêts de chênes lièges centenaires et des garrigues parsemées de thym, lavande et romarin où il fait bon se promener de fin Mai à Mi-Juin en se laissant enivrer par tous ces parfums subtils. Au mois de Juin on peut y cueillir le chrysanthème des prés pour fabriquer les bouquets de la St Jean.
Côté terroir faites une pause chez nos producteurs et régalez-vous en y dégustant leurs produits (miels, canards, escargots, fromages, huile d’olives…) puis n’oubliez pas de vous arrêter dans un des nombreux caveaux qui sillonnent le territoire pour déguster nos vins!

Carte d’identité
Région : Languedoc Roussillon
Département : Pyrénées orientales
19 communes composent cette intercommunalité : BANYULS DELS ASPRESBROUILLACAIXASCALMEILLESCAMELASCASTELNOUFOURQUESLLAUROMONTAURIOLOMSPASSASTE COLOMBEST JEAN LASSEILLETERRATSTHUIRTORDERESTRESSERRETROUILLASVILLEMOLAQUE
Nombre d’habitants :18 566 habitants
Altitude : de 40m à 480m
Superficie :232 km2
Capitale économique et administrative : Thuir avec 7 500 habitants